Communication of sustainability related knowledge is one of our main goals. SERI is not engaged in basic research but translates relevant knowledge so that it can be used in a sustainability context. This has many aspects:

  • the communication aspect is included in many projects right from the beginning so that the results are relevant to both the research community as well as to stakeholders and to the general public.
  • Apart from scientific reports and publication, which are important to keep in touch with the respective scientific communities, we aim at publishing our work in mass media such as the press, radio and tv.
  • In doing so, we use everyday language as well as graphical representation of our research work
  • This website tries to communicate research results as well as other sustainability related issues to various target groups.
  • Our Blog (in German language) tackles themes of general interest related to our work. Moreover, we use media of social networks, such as  facebook and twitter and like to communicate with everybody interested in our themes.
  • Since 2015, we produce N21, our own media for sustainability (so far only in German).
  • SERI researchers are teaching at several universities in Austria and abroad.

Apart from these concrete activities, we consider all our work as communication – among project partners, within the scientific community, between our clients, with stakeholders involved or with the general public interested in our results and also among the SERI researchers involved. Our aim is to constantly improve our way of communication since we are convinced that sustainability will only be achieved when a larger share of the population understands and feels what sustainability is about.

Further information on this research area:

Kommunikation nachhaltigkeitsrelevanter Themen gehört zu unseren wichtigsten Zielen. Wir beschäftigen uns nicht mit Grundlagenforschung, sondern bereiten wissenschaftlich Fundiertes auf, damit es im Sinne der Nachhaltigkeit verwendet werden kann.

Nachhaltigkeit erfordert, möglichst viele Menschen auf diesen Weg mit zu nehmen.

  • Der Kommunikationsaspekt wird in vielen Projekten von Beginn an berücksichtigt, um am Ende Ergebnisse zu erhalten, die für Stakeholder und die allgemeine Öffentlichkeit relevant sind.
  • Neben wissenschaftlichen Berichten und Publikationen, die wichtig für den Kontakt mit den Scientific Communities sind, setzen wir auf die Veröffentlichung unserer Arbeit in Massenmedien wie Printmedien, Radio und TV.
  • Dabei verwenden wir journalistische Aufbereitung, Alltagssprache sowie grafische Darstellungen.
  • Unsere Webseite versucht, verschiedenen Zielgruppen sowohl Forschungsergebnisse als auch andere Themen mit Nachhaltigkeits-Bezug zu vermitteln.
  • Unser Blog behandelt Themen von allgemeinem Interesse mit Bezug auf unsere Arbeit. Außerdem nutzen wir soziale Online-Netzwerke, vor allem Facebook und Twitter und wollen mit jedem/r kommunizieren, der/die sich für unsere Themen interessiert.
  • Dafür haben wir 2015 N21 gegründet: ein eigenes Nachhaltigkeitsmedium im Internet
  • SERI-ForscherInnen lehren an verschiedenen Universitäten in Österreich und im Ausland.

Wir verstehen dabei unsere gesamte Arbeit als Kommunikation – unter Projektpartnern, innerhalb der wissenschaftlichen Gemeinschaft, mit unseren KundInnen, mit involvierten Stakeholdern und mit der an unseren Ergebnissen interessierten Öffentlichkeit, natürlich auch unter den involvierten SERI-ForscherInnen. Unser Ziel ist die ständige Verbesserung unserer Art und Weise zu kommunizieren – denn Nachhaltigkeit wird nur dann erreicht werden, wenn ein großer Teil der Bevölkerung versteht und fühlt, was Nachhaltigkeit ist.

Weiterführende Informationen zu diesem Arbeitsbereich: