What we want

The state of the world we live in demands action, not just passive spectating. his applies to overconsumption, a growing gap between rich and poor as well as the seeming repression of politics in all areas of society and life in general. The transition towards a sustainable future needs many heads, hands, instruments. We are supporting researchers, actors and organisations that are part of this transformation. Our instrument is communication.


How we are doing that

Our sustainability communication aims to convey information about risks and opportunities. That means: no alarmism and fear mongering but information that engages the reader to act themselves. Dedicated journalism that initiates commitment. Additionally, with participatory journalism we want readers to be part of the media products.


For whom, with whom?

We want widespread impact, not a niche medium. Our target audience is the general public, reached via the internet and other channels. The new digital and mobile media formats have opened up new possibilities.


What exactly are we offering?

We would like to explore that with you personally. Key services could include:

– working on a strategy (in cooperation with the client)

– organising a workshop (eg. for a conference or just in general)

– empowering researchers to communcate more effectively themselves

– reporting / media relations


Reference projects

Workshop on transforming journalism at “Growth in Transition 2016” in Vienna

Our German language online medium N21 organised a three day workshop as part of the “Growth in Transition” Conference at the Vienna University of Economics and Business in 2016. A live blog was used to report on sessions and keynotes as well as a printed “conference newspaper”.

POLFREE Dissemination
POLFREE (Policy Options for a Resource-Efficient Europe) is a large research project supported by the European Union. Among other work, SERI translated the scientific findings into a journalistic multimedia product. Find out more at http://polfree.seri.at

GLAMURS Dissemination

SERI was involved in the dissemination of the EU project GLAMURS (Green Lifestyles, Alternative Models and Upscaling Regional Sustainability). More at www.glamurs.eu


Contact

Fritz Hinterberger
fritz.hinterberger[at]seri.at


Go here to find out more about the research area Sustainable Communication.

Was wir wollen

Der Zustand unserer Welt lässt kein passives Zuschauen mehr zu, sondern erfordert aktive Einmischung. Das gilt für die ökologische Übernutzung des Planeten, die sich immer weiter öffnende Schere zwischen Arm und Reich und das zurückdrängen des Politischen aus allen Lebens- und Gesellschaftsbereichen. Ein Umsteuern zur Nachhaltigkeit erfordert viele Köpfe, Hände, Instrumente. Wir unterstützen Forscher, Akteure und Organisationen, die Teil dieses Wandels sind. Unser Instrument ist die Kommunikation.


Wie wir das machen

Unsere Nachhaltigkeitkommunikation will Information über Risiken wie auch Chancen vermitteln. Also keine mediale Panikmache, sondern Informationen, die die Leserin/den Leser auch zum eigenen Handeln ermächtigt. Ein engagierter Journalimus, der Engagement begründet und auslöst. Dazu wollen wir die LeserInnen in Form eines partiztipativen Journalismus an den Medienprodukten beteiligen.


Für wen, mit wem?

Wir wollen mediale  Breitenwirkung erreichen. An einem Nischen-Medium ist uns nicht gelegen. Die Zielgruppe ist die breite Bevölkerung. Dazu wollen wir neben dem Internet auch andere Verbreitungskanäle bespielen. Diese Verbreitungsstrategie ist – nach dem inhaltlich-redaktionellen Konzept – die nächste große Herausforderung, die sich uns stellt. Mit den neuen digitalen und mobilen Medienformaten gibt es dafür aussichtsreiche Optionen.


Was genau bieten wir an?

Das würden wir gerne persönlich mit Ihnen klären. Ein paar Stichworte:

– Erarbeitung einer Strategie (partizipativ mit dem Kunden)

– Workshop zu einem Anlass (Konferenz oder allgemein)

– Wissenschaftler dazu zu „empowern“, selbst besser zu kommunizieren

– eigene Berichte / Medienarbeit.


Referenzprojekte

Transformationsjournalismus-Workshop für/bei “Wachstum im Wandel 2016”

Unser Onlinemedium N21 begleitete die Konferenz „Wachstum im Wandel 2016“ mit einem Workshop zum Thema „Transformationsjournalismus“. Die entstandenen Texte erschienen als Live-Blog auf der Konferenz-Website und wurden auch als gedruckte „Konferenzzeitung“ während der Veranstaltung verteilt.

POLFREE Dissemination
POLFREE (Policy Options for a Resource-Efficient Europe) heißt ein großes wissenschaftliches Projekt, unterstützt von der Europäischen Union. SERI hat die wissenschaftliche Studie in ein journalistisches und multimediales Produkt übersetzt. Mehr unter http://polfree.seri.at

GLAMURS Dissemination

SERI übernahm unter anderem die Dissemination des EU-Projekts GLAMURS (Green Lifestyles, Alternative Models and Upscaling Regional Sustainability). Mehr unter www.glamurs.eu


Kontakt

Fritz Hinterberger
fritz.hinterberger[at]seri.at

gemeinsam mit Manfred Ronzheimer und N21


Mehr über den Arbeitsbereich Nachhaltige Kommunikation finden Sie hier.