Making a sustainable economy tangible – SERI project MeetPASS

In late 2015, the international community decided in Paris to commit to curb greenhouse gas emissions and thus limit the rise of global average temperature to no more than 1.5 degrees Celcius above pre-industrial levels. Within our new project MeetPASS, SERI will develop a specific path (globally and for Austria) to achieve this goal and examine how that affects the attainment of the other UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

Besides the fight against climate change and other environmental goals, these comprise a wide range of other aims such as ending poverty and hunger, improving health and education, reducing inequalities of income and wealth, promoting decent work and economic growth and naturally peace and global partnership.

By conducting an integrated model-based scenario analysis including stakeholders and experts, the economic, environmental but foremost social and equality impacts of a transition to a low-carbon-society will be analysed from a global as well as Austrian perspective.

MeetPASS investigates the feasibility as well as the impacts of potential measures and policies implemented in Austria to support the global climate target set in Paris. The consortium will develop a COP21 scenario which comprises policies and measures inducing changes in behaviour and consumption that support a transition towards a low-carbon-society. The scenario will be initially quantified with the global model GINFORS by the Institute of Economic Structures Research (Gesellschaft für wirtschaftliche Strukturforschung – GWS) to ensure that the 1.5 ° C target can be achieved at the global level.

The model e3.at will then provide a detailed analysis of the impacts of the scenario on the sustainability dimensions for the Austrian society.


Project aims

  • MeetPASS provides a first assessment of the implications of climate policy measures on SDG indicators for Austria and thus can help policy makers to develop strategies that support the Paris goals and the SDGs at the same time.
  • The project shows which opportunities exist to meaningfully link these two processes. On the national level, where implementation, monitoring and review will (mainly) take place, the modelling results of MeetPASS provide evidence whether measures that support the transition to a low-carbon-society may also have positive social and equity implications and lead to economic benefits.
  • Based on the modelling results, recommendations and proposals for policy measures and behavioural changes which are capable to meet Austria’s contribution to the Paris goals as well as to support the implementation of SDGs in Austria can be derived.

SetWidth1024-klimafondspoweredbyRGBThis project is funded by the Austrian Climate and Energy Fund as part of the „Austrian Climate Research Programme – ACRP 9th Call“. Find out more at www.klimafonds.gv.at/home-en-US

 


Contact

Dr. Friedrich Hinterberger and Mag. Andrea Stocker


Go here to find out more about the research area Sustainable Economic Policy and Global Responsibility

Nachhaltig wirtschaften konkret – das SERI-Projekt MeetPASS

Ende 2015 hat die internationale Staatengemeinschaft in Paris beschlossen, den Treibhausgasausstoß der Welt so zu beschränken, dass die globale Temperatur um nicht mehr als 1,5 Grad im Vergleich zur vorindustriellen Zeit steigt. In unserem neuen Projekt MeetPASS entwickelt SERI einen konkreten Entwicklungspfad (global und für Österreich), wie dieses Ziel zu erreichen ist und wie sich das auf Erreichung der anderen UN- Entwicklungsziele (Sustainable Development Goals – SDGs) auswirkt.

Neben der Bekämpfung des Klimawandels und anderen Umweltzielen gehören die Beendigung von Armut und Hunger, die Verbesserung von Gesundheit und Bildung, eine gerechte Verteilung von Einkommen und Vermögen, gute Arbeitsplätze und Wirtschaftswachstum, aber auch Friede und globale Partnerschaft zu den SDGs.

Durch eine integrierte modellbasierte Szenarioanalyse, welche auch Stakeholder und ExpertInnen miteinschließt, werden – gefördert vom österreichischen Klimafonds – die ökonomischen, ökologischen und vor allem sozialen und Verteilungs-Wirkungen eines Übergangs in eine kohlenstoffarme Gesellschaft aus einer globalen wie auch aus einer österreichischen Perspektive analysiert.

MeetPASS untersucht, welche Auswirkungen sich ergeben, wenn Österreich politische Maßnahmen einführt, um seinen Beitrag zur Erreichung des im Pariser Abkommen festgeschriebenen Ziels zu leisten. Dazu wird ein COP21-Szenario entwickelt, das ebensolche politische Maßnahmen umfasst, die einen Übergang zu einer kohlenstoffarmen Gesellschaft unterstützen. Dieses Szenario wird zunächst mit dem Weltmodell GINFORS der Gesellschaft für wirtschaftliche Strukturforschung (GWS) in Osnabrück quantifiziert, um die globalen Auswirkungen aufzuzeigen und sicherzustellen, dass das 1,5° C Ziel erreicht wird.

Im nächsten Schritt werden die Maßnahmen auf Österreich übertragen und mit dem gemeinsam mit der GWS entwickelten Modell e3.at detaillierter untersucht.


Projektziele

  • MeetPASS liefert eine erste Einschätzung der Auswirkungen klimapolitischer Maßnahmen auf ausgewählte SDG-Indikatoren für Österreich und kann somit den politischen EntscheidungsträgerInnen helfen, Strategien zu entwickeln, die gleichzeitig die Ziele des Paris-Abkommens und die SDGs unterstützen.
  • Das Projekt zeigt, welche Möglichkeiten bestehen, diese beiden Prozesse sinnvoll miteinander zu verbinden. Auf nationaler Ebene, wo die Umsetzung, Überwachung und Überprüfung (vor allem) stattfinden, können die Modellierungsergebnisse von MeetPASS zeigen, wie klimapolitische Maßnahmen konzipiert werden müssten, um auch positive soziale und wirtschaftliche Auswirkungen zu generieren.
  • Anhand der Modellierungsergebnisse können Empfehlungen und Vorschläge für politische Maßnahmen und Verhaltensänderungen abgeleitet werden, die in der Lage sind, den Beitrag Österreichs zu den Pariser Zielen zu erfüllen und die Umsetzung der SDG in Österreich zu unterstützen.

SetWidth1024-klimafondspoweredbyRGBDieses Projekt wird aus Mitteln des Klima- und Energiefonds gefördert und im Rahmen des Programms „Austrian Climate Research Programme – ACRP 9th Call“ durchgeführt. Mehr unter www.klimafonds.gv.at

 


Kontakt

Dr. Friedrich Hinterberger und Mag. Andrea Stocker