The EU funded project POLFREE (Policy Options for a Resource Efficient Economy) coordinated by Professor Paul Ekins from University College London (www.ucl.ac.uk) on the one hand aimed to identify the ‘web of constraints’ behind why we do not use natural resources as efficiently as we might and on the other hand developed a vision for a resource-efficient Europe. This does not only include describing such a possible future economy, but also modeling different possible scenarios. The project’s goal was to devise recommendations for national and EU policy that could further a more resource-efficient European economy. In the first couple of years working on POLFREE, we used scientific research and political documents in dialogue with stakeholders to develop the three scenarios that were in turn quantified using economic and ecological models

Results

The project’s main result: Using fewer resources and serious action against climate change can lead to more jobs, positive economic development and a high quality of life. To spread this message, SERI in cooperation with Bert Beyers also developed a website (polfree.seri.at) compiling the most important findings in videos, photos, graphs and texts.

Six Policy Briefs concluded the work on POLFREE (Policy Options for a Resource Efficient Economy), a project SERI and a number of European partners have worked on for over three years.

Related projects

Results for the Austrian economy were presented as part of the “Growth in Transition” initiative. Moreover, SERI and GWS have continued to work on the scenarios including calculations on the economic advantages of a European-wide nuclear power phase-out. In another project – meetPASS – SERI and GWS aim to find out how the 1.5 degrees target can be reached and what that would mean for the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

Links:

 


Go here to find out more about the research area Sustainable Economic Policy and Global Responsibility.

Im Rahmen des EU-Projektes POLFREE (Policy Options for a Resource Efficient Economy) wurde unter Leitung von Prof. Paul Ekins vom University College London (www.ucl.ac.uk) einerseits untersucht, was Barrieren bezüglich einer steigende Ressourceneffizienz auf Seiten der Konsumenten und Produzenten sind. Andererseits wurde eine Vision hinsichtlich einer ressourceneffizienteren europäischen Wirtschaft erstellt. Das beinhaltet nicht nur die Darstellung eines zukünftigen Bildes einer solchen Wirtschaft, sondern auch das Durchdenken und Modellieren möglicher unterschiedlicher Szenarien sowie deren Entwicklungspfade. Ziel des Projektes war es Politikempfehlungen für die nationale und EU-Ebene zu entwickeln, die helfen, die Entwicklung einer ressourceneffizienten europäischen Wirtschaft zu fördern. In den ersten Jahren haben wir auf Grundlage wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse, politischer Dokumente und gemeinsam mit Stakeholdern die Szenarien formuliert, die dann mit ökologisch-ökonomische Modellen berechnet wurden.

Jetzt sind die Ergebnisse verfügbar. Zentrale Aussage: Ein geringerer Ressourcenverbrauch und engagiertes Handeln gegen den Klimawandel kann zu mehr Arbeitsplätzen, positiver wirtschaftlicher Entwicklung und einer hohen Lebensqualität führen. Um diese Message zu verbreiten, hat SERI  schließlich gemeinsam mit Bert Beyers eine Website (polfree.seri.at) gestaltet, auf der die wesentlichen Ergebnisse in Form von allgemein verständlichen Aussagen, Interviews, Videos und Abbildungen präsentiert werden.

Sechs Policy Briefs fassen die wichtigsten Forschungsergebnissen des Projekts  noch einmal zusammen.

Verwandte Projekte

Die Ergebnisse für die österreichische Wirtschaft wurden im Rahmen des Prozesses “Wachstum im Wandel” präsentiert. SERI hat gemeinsam mit der Gesellschaft für wirtschaftliche Struktuforschung (GWS) an diesen Szenarien weiter gearbeitet und dabei etwa die wirtschaftlichen Vorteile eines atomenergiefreien Europas berechnet. Ein weiteres Projekt mit der GWS meetPASS errechnet wie das 1,5-Grad-Ziel erreicht werden kann und was das für die globalen Nachhaltigkeitsziele (SDGs) in Österreich und global bedeuten würde.

 

Links:POLFREE-Logo


Mehr über den Arbeitsbereich Nachhaltige Wirtschaftspolitk und Globale Verantwortung finden Sie hier.