There is a worldwide scientific consensus that the ongoing climate crisis has uncontrollable effects on the environment and the planet’s biodiversity. These are already being felt through ever more frequent weather extremes and natural disasters. The United Nations through the Intergovernmental Science-Policy Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services (IPBES) reports that one million of an estimated eight million animal and plant species is threatened with extinction. We are therefore in the sixth major mass extinction. This loss of biodiversity has catastrophic effects on our ecosystem and thus endangers the basis of human life.

On 31 May, Fridays For Future will be on strike together in Vienna with Greta Thunberg to call on decision-makers to take action against the progression of the climate crisis and the associated increase in mass deaths. Over 26,000 scientists and researchers have already declared their support for the youth’s demands as Scientists For Future. On May 31, both the initiatives Scientists For Future and Artists For Future will for the first time act in solidarity with Fridays For Future to make the urgency of the situation even clearer.

The Scientists For Future will gather in front of the Natural History Museum on May 31 at 11.30 am and then move through the Heldentor to the Heldenplatz at 11.55 am. The ArtistsForFuture will meet at the Kunsthistorisches Museum opposite. The program will begin at Heldenplatz at 11.55 am, where Scientists and Artists will be welcomed.  Afterwards there will be speeches by students and a representative each of both Scientists and Artists. At around 12.30 a large demonstration will move from Heldenplatz via Bellariastraße to the Volkstheater. From there it goes past the MQ, back onto the Ring and on to Schwarzenbergplatz. At Schwarzenbergplatz, a final rally with speeches by representatives of the regional groups and Greta Thunberg will take place.

Links:

Weltweit besteht wissenschaftlicher Konsens darüber, dass die fortschreitende Klimakrise unkontrollierbare Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt und Biodiversität hat. Diese sind schon jetzt durch immer häufigere Wetterextreme und Naturkatastrophen spürbar. Der Weltbiodiversitätsrat der Vereinten Nationen berichtet, dass von geschätzten acht Millionen Tier- und Pflanzenarten eine Million vom Aussterben bedroht ist. Wir befinden uns somit im sechsten großen Massensterben. Dieser Verlust an Biodiversität hat katastrophale Auswirkungen auf unser Ökosystem und gefährdet dadurch auch die Lebensgrundlage des Menschen.

Am 31. Mai wird Fridays For Future bei einem gemeinsamen Streik mit Greta Thunberg ein Zeichen setzen, um die Entscheidungsträger*innen aufzufordern gegen das Fortschreiten der Klimakrise und dem damit verbundenen zunehmenden Massensterben vorzugehen. Über 26 000 Wissenschaftler*innen haben sich bereits als Scientists For Future zu den Forderungen der Jugend bekannt. Am 31.Mai werden die Scientists For Future und Artists For Future erstmals in Solidarität mit Fridays For Future auftreten, um noch deutlicher auf die Dringlichkeit der Situation hinzuweisen.

Die Scientists For Future werden sich am 31. Mai um 11.30 vor dem Naturhistorischen Museum sammeln und dann gemeinsam um 11.55 durch das Heldentor zum Heldenplatz einziehen. Die ArtistsForFuture werden sich am gegenüberliegenden Kunsthistorischen Museum treffen. Am Heldenplatz wird das Programm um 11.55 beginnen, dort werden die Scientists und Artists bei ihrem Einzug begrüßt. Anschließend wird es Reden von Schüler*innen sowie von je einem Vertreter/ einer Vertreterin der Scientists und Artists geben. Um etwa 12.30 wird ein großer Demozug vom Heldenplatz über die Bellariastraße zum Volkstheater ziehen. Von dort geht es am MQ vorbei, zurück auf den Ring und weiter bis zum Schwarzenbergplatz. Am Schwarzenbergplatz wird eine Schlusskundgebung mit Reden von Vertreter*innen aus den Regionalgruppen und Greta Thunberg stattfinden.

Links: