The first results of our project show: without additional measures, total emissions would increase to double the reasonably safe (according to the IPCC) 6-700 GT by 2050, or about 1300 GT. While global economic output will almost double in this period (+85%), emissions will increase by a third.

In order to reach the target of only 6-700 Gt in total, emissions per capita would have to decrease significantly – to about one tonne per capita of the world’s population in 2050. That is a reduction to about one fifth – by almost 80%. Europeans (EU) are currently emitting 8 tonnes per capita. Here, the required reduction to one tonne is therefore even greater.

The good news however is that such a reduction is possible without economic collapse. The economy would grow even faster (globally by 100% instead of “only” 85%). And in Europe the economically stimulating effects would be even stronger. Instead of the expected 31% increase in the European gross domestic product (which means less than 1% annually on average) without a stronger climate policy, 45% would be possible, which corresponds to an increase in growth of almost 50%.

Find out more at meetpass.at

Die ersten Ergebnisse unseres Projekts meetPASS zeigen: ohne zusätzliche Maßnahmen würden die Gesamtemissionen bis 2050 auf das doppelte der laut IPCC einigermaßen sicheren 6-700 GT, nämlich auf ca 1300 GT, ansteigen. Während sich die weltweite Wirtschaftsleistung in diesem Zeitraum fast verdoppeln wird (+85%), steigen die Emissionen um ein Drittel.

Um das Ziel von insgesamt nur mehr 6-700 GT zu erreichen, müssten sie pro Kopf defakto ab sofort deutlich sinken – und zwar auf etwa eine Tonne pro Kopf der Weltbevölkerung in 2050. Das ist eine Reduktion auf etwa ein Fünftel – um fast 80%. In Europa (EU) liegen wir derzeit bei 8 Tonnen/Kopf. Die erforderliche Reduktion auf eine Tonne ist also noch größer.

Die gute Nachricht: eine solche Reduktion ist ohne wirtschaftlichen Zusammenbruch möglich. Die Wirtschaft würde sogar stärker wachsen (global um 100% statt „nur“ um 85%). Und in Europa wäre die wirtschaftsankurbelnde Wirkung noch stärker. Statt erwarteter 31% Erhöhung des europäischen Bruttoinlandsprodukts (was im langjährigen Durchschnitt unter 1% bedeutet) ohne verstärkte Klimapolitik wären so 45% möglich, was einer Verstärkung des Wachstums von fast 50% entspricht.

Mehr unter meetpass.at/2019/02/11/erste-ergebnisse